This is not meant to be a beating, but rather a tool to give you some help in reading and understanding God’s word. If you miss a day, and can “catch up: by doubling up, then sweet. If you can’t read on certain days, adjust the schedule to fit your life. I think you will find the schedule pretty easy to maintain if you keep just a bit of discipline.

With that said…………….

This week’s reading:
Monday: John 1 – 3
Tuesday: John 4 – 6
Wednesday: John 7 – 9
Thursday: John 10 – 14
Friday: John 15 – 17
Saturday: John 18 – 21
Sunday: 1 Samuel 1 – 4
Monday: 1 Samuel 5 – 8

Summary: Monday: Luke 1 – 3
Luke 1 begins the description of Jesus’ ministry with not only His own birth’s description; but with the birth of His forerunner, John the Baptist. Chapter 2 contains many of the most famous accounts in the Gospels: Jesus’ birth and shepherd and angels (Linus monologue), Jesus being presented at the temple (Simeon & Anna), Jesus being lost for 3 days in Jerusalem. Luke 3 begins the meat of the earthly ministry as John preaches and Jesus is baptized.

Tuesday: Luke 4 – 6
Luke 4 contains the temptation of Jesus by Satan (and Jesus’ faithfulness) before the public ministry of Jesus begins in earnest. Luke 5 begins the calling of the disciples and Jesus’ healing ministry. Luke 6 contains Jesus teaching on the Sabbath and the Beatitudes.

Wednesday: Luke 7 – 10
Luke 7 continues the teaching and miracles of Jesus as the Centurion’s servant is healed and Jesus teaches on faith and forgiveness. Luke 8 begins with a testimony to the work of women in Jesus’ life and has teaching in parables before concluding with the calming of the sea and the Gerasenes demoniac. Luke 9 sends the 12 out for ministry before the feeding of the 5,000 and the Transfiguration. Chapter 10 sends out 70 followers and the work of God through them before finishing with the accounts of the Good Samaritan and Mary & Martha.

Thursday: Luke 11 – 13
Luke 11 contains the Lukan version of the Lord’s Prayer before calling the Pharisees to account for their hypocrisy. Jesus also rebukes the crowd and points to Jonah as a picture of His work. Luke 12 teaches on: faith, covetousness, preparation for the end, and the division of the Gospel. Chapter 13 completes the long teaching discourse with a healing; before beginning another teaching section.

Friday: Luke 14 – 17
Luke 14 continues Jesus’ teaching in parables before concluding with an explanation of discipleship. Luke 15 is the lost and found: sheep, coin, prodigal son. Chapter 16 contains 2 well-known teachings: the unrighteous steward and the rich man & Lazarus. Luke 17 begins with instructions to the disciples, before cleansing 10 lepers, and finishing with a teaching on the second coming of Christ.

Saturday: Luke 18 – 20
Luke 18 continues teaching while moving towards the rich young ruler and the healing of Bartimaeus. Luke 19 begins with Jesus in Jericho where Zaccheus is converted and then moves to Jerusalem and the Triumphal Entry and temple cleansing. In chapter 20, Jesus is questioned and teaches in the Temple.

Sunday: Luke 21 – 24
Luke 21 continues Jesus’ open teaching in the Temple. Chapter 22 prepares and celebrates the Passover (Lord’s Supper is instituted), before moving to the Garden of Gethsemane where Jesus is arrested and taken to trial; Peter’s denial occurs toward the end of this chapter. Chapter 23 continues the trials before Jesus is finally crucified and laid in a tomb. Luke 24 recounts the Resurrection and road to Emmaus before concluding with the Ascension.