March 12 – 18

This is not meant to be a beating, but rather a tool to give you some help in reading and understanding God’s word.  If you miss a day, and can “catch up: by doubling up, then sweet.  If you can’t read on certain days, adjust the schedule to fit your life.  I think you will find the schedule pretty easy to maintain if you keep just a bit of discipline.

With that said…………….

This week’s reading:
March 12
: Deuteronomy 22 – 24
March 13: Deuteronomy 25 – 27
March 14: Deuteronomy 28 – 30
March 15: Deuteronomy 31 – 34
March 16: Joshua 1 – 2
March 17: Joshua 3 – 5
March 18:  Joshua 6 – 8
March 19: Joshua 9 – 11

Summary: (Note: )
March 5
: Deuteronomy 1 – 3
Deuteronomy is a series of messages of Moses delivered to the Israelites who are on the verge of entering the Promised Land.
Deuteronomy 1 – 3, recounts the history of the wanderings and travels thus far of the people. (Note: The specificity of the travel log and details of the places is uncanny.  This was an important time and required important record keeping.  This is not the ramblings of a fairy-tale, but rather the chronicling of the interaction between Israel and God.  Also see the protection of God over this people who were in clear rebellion against Him.  The history of Scripture is the history of a merciful God towards sinners.)
March 6: Deuteronomy 4 – 6
Deuteronomy 4 is the call of Moses to the people that they would be faithful.  (Note: This reminder of God, His being & nature, is vital to Israel’s following Him.  God is not like the local idols of the pagan nations; He is the creator and sustainer of: all things, in all places, at all times.)
Deuteronomy 5 contains the recounting of the 10 commandments, and a reminder of the events that surrounded the original reception of the laws. 
Deuteronomy 6 again exhorts the people to obedience. (Note: The Shema (Deut. 6:4) and the implications of it are a testimony to how living for God works and what it should look like.  God is again, not a part-timer; He is and always is God.  Therefore, He is and always is the object and focus of our lives.)
March 7: Deuteronomy 7 – 9
Deuteronomy 7 gives warnings about the land and life in the Promised Land as well as the promises of what God will do for the people.  (Note: Israel is the set apart people of God; they are called to be holy and not like the other nations.  That means they must act in accordance with God’s holiness, not national standards.)
Deuteronomy 8 continues the exhortation and encouragement of Moses for the people to be faithful. 
Deuteronomy 9 reminds of past sins against God.
March 8: Deuteronomy 10 – 12
Deuteronomy 10 begins with the 2nd set of tablets and a reminder of what they contain.  (Note: In light of the people’s sin, the mercy, grace, and patience of God is displayed.  Moses uses that reminder as an exhortation to remember the commands of God and live for Him and His Law.)
Deuteronomy 11 explains what the Lord will do for His people who are faithful to Him.  (Note: The motivation to following God’s Law was the same in the Old Testament as it is today; the love of God.  We follow His laws because we love Him.  We love Him, because He has saved us; those things go hand in hand: always.)
Deuteronomy 12 begins the recounting of the Laws of God.
March 9: Deuteronomy 13 – 15
Deuteronomy 13 reminds what a prophet is and is not and is an exhortation to faithful living.  (Note: The standard is always God and His word.  How do you know if a prophet is true?  A prophet is true if he speaks in accord with God’s Law.)
Deuteronomy 14 examines the clean and unclean critters.
Deuteronomy 15 explains the Sabbath and what it entails.  (Note: A part of the Law, even rest for people and land was commanded by God.  This reliance upon God’s favor in crops and livestock was a maker for Israel as set apart from other nations.  They trusted in a continuous provision, not some deity to be appeased.)
March 10: Deuteronomy 16 – 18
Deuteronomy 16 outlines the national feasts (3 per year) that will mark Israel’s calendar.  (Note: Much of the Gospels narrative centers on the feasts and how they point to the salvific work of Christ.  Most of Jesus’ work is shown in shadow in the festivals.)
Deuteronomy 17 lays out the way legal matters will be settled and how justice is meted out. 
Deuteronomy 18 designates the Levites inheritance and forbids witchcraft before concluding with a forward look to the next great prophet. (Note: This look at the next great prophet is a picture of the future Christ; who will know God face to face.)
March 11
:  Deuteronomy 19 – 21
These chapters lay out laws for refuge, war, territory, and household relations among God’s people.